Treasure

Your gold head weighs on my chest,

just above my bosom

your wheat-like freckles shimmer under the lamps glow

 

Your green eyes, slits of wet lime

that sometimes paled into silver disguise.

Amber eyelashes fanning shadows upon your cheeks

 

Your ruby heart drumming beneath

your chest of rich fur

 

Your crimson mouth; triangular but full,

interlocked perfectly with mine

their fullness adorning mine.

 

Your thin hair flopped languidly,

my hands traced their waves, tugging and curling at its irregularity.

 

Your smile, your smile, your smile

Stretched to its fullness; a wide invitation that

changed your face and in an instance,

redefined smiles beauty.

 

Your smile, a moment in time

flashed like a gift only for me.

 

Now your treasures shall float out to sea

and I shall not be there to see

who else may cherish your smile

 

as a treasure in all of its own.

Leave a comment